Buddhist Circuit Tourist Train

8 Days, 8 Sites to Calm Your Mind, Body and Soul

In the heartland of spirituality, India beckons with a journey that transcends the ordinary – the Buddhist Circuit Tourist Train by Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Limited (IRCTC). This transformative expedition spans 8 days, unveiling a tapestry of serenity, history, and self-discovery. As you embark on this voyage, prepare to be enveloped by the calming aura of ancient Buddhist sites, rejuvenating both your mind and soul.

1. Bodh Gaya: The Enlightened Beginning
Your pilgrimage begins in Bodh Gaya, where the Bodhi Tree stands as a living testament to enlightenment. Meditate beneath its branches, retracing the steps of Siddhartha Gautama, and feel the energy that has drawn seekers for centuries.

2. Rajgir: Hot Springs and Meditation
Journey to Rajgir, a picturesque destination surrounded by hills. Explore the Vulture’s Peak and soak in the hot springs, immersing yourself in an environment perfect for deep meditation and self-reflection.

3. Nalanda: Ancient Seat of Learning
Discover Nalanda, once a center of Buddhist learning. The ruins of Nalanda University showcase the intellectual prowess of ancient monks, inviting you to absorb the wisdom that permeates the air.

4. Varanasi: Spiritual Hub on the Ganges
Continue your journey in Varanasi, where spirituality intertwines with the sacred Ganges. Witness the Ganga Aarti, sail along the river, and absorb the mystical atmosphere that has inspired seekers for centuries.

5. Sarnath: Path to Liberation
Follow the path of enlightenment to Sarnath, where Buddha delivered his first sermon. The Dhamek Stupa and the Ashoka Pillar narrate tales of ancient wisdom, inviting introspection in the midst of historical grandeur.

6. Kushinagar: The Final Resting Place
As the journey unfolds, reach Kushinagar, the site of Buddha’s Mahaparinirvana. The Ramabhar Stupa and the reclining Nirvana statue create a sacred ambiance, prompting contemplation on the transient nature of existence.

7. Lumbini: Birthplace of Buddha
Cross into Nepal to visit Lumbini, the birthplace of Siddhartha Gautama. The Maya Devi Temple and the sacred garden offer a profound experience, connecting you to the roots of Buddhism.

8. Sravasti: Witness to Miracles
Last on the itinerary is Sravasti, where Buddha performed miracles. Jetavana Monastery echoes with ancient chants, providing a tranquil backdrop for spiritual introspection.

Although not a spiritual destination, the final stop on this Buddhist train journey is the historic city of Agra where guests can admire the beauty of the incredible Taj Mahal. This Buddhist train journey not only connects you with sacred sites but also provides a holistic experience for your mind, body, and soul. Immerse yourself in the rhythm of chanting monks, the scent of incense, and the timeless.


The Buddhist Circuit Tourist Train offers more than a mere journey; it is a transformative odyssey through the cradle of Buddhism. As you traverse these 8 destinations, let the serenity of Bodh Gaya, the profundity of Sarnath, and the spirituality of Varanasi guide you on an inward journey. Join us in exploring these Buddhist travel destinations and embark on a soulful adventure that transcends time and space, bringing you closer to the essence of Buddhist travel destinations and Buddhist tourist places in India.