Buddhist Circuit Tourist Train: itinerary, departure dates & price

Celebrating Buddha Purnima: An Auspicious Journey with The Buddhist Circuit Tourist Train

Buddhism is one of the world’s major religions, and it has a long and rich history that spans many countries and cultures. India is one of the most important destinations for Buddhist pilgrimage, as it is home to many of the religion’s most significant sites. The Buddhist Circuit Tourist Train is a unique way to experience these holy places, offering travellers an immersive and enlightening journey through India’s Buddhist history. If you want to discover the famous places of Buddha in India, then step aboard IRCTC’s Buddhist Circuit Tourist Train and complete this spiritual journey in style.

The itinerary of the Buddhist Circuit Tourist Train covers some of the most important Buddhist sites in India, taking travellers on a journey through the country’s ancient past. The tour starts in Delhi and travels to the heart of Buddhism in Bodhgaya, the site of the Buddha’s enlightenment. Here, visitors can meditate under the Bodhi tree, visit the Mahabodhi Temple, and explore the many other temples and monasteries in the area.

The next stop on the itinerary is Rajgir, a city that was once the capital of the powerful Magadha Empire. This is where the Buddha spent several years preaching and teaching, and visitors can explore many of the sites associated with his teachings, including famous Monasteries and the I Cave. From Rajgir, the train travels to Nalanda, home to one of the world’s oldest universities and a major centre of Buddhist learning. Visitors can explore the ruins of the university and the many temples and monasteries in the area.

The tour then moves on to Varanasi, one of the holiest cities in India and an important centre of Buddhist pilgrimage. Visitors can take a boat ride on the Ganges River, visit the many temples and shrines in the city, and witness the ancient Hindu tradition of Aarti, a daily ritual of worship on the riverbanks. The next stop on the tour is Sarnath, the site of the Buddha’s first sermon after his enlightenment. Visitors can explore the many temples and monuments in the area and learn more about the history of Buddhism in India.

After this, the train moves to Nepal to give pilgrims an opportunity to visit the birthplace of Gautama Buddha in Lumbini. This is followed by a visit to the holy city of Kushinagar where travellers can enjoy sightseeing at interesting sites such as Mahaparinirvan Temple, Rambhar Stupa, Mata Kutir Temple etc. The second last destination of this soothing journey is the beautiful and quaint town of Sravasti where Lord Buddha meditated for many monsoons. Finally, the train moves to Agra so that guests can feast their eyes over the lovely Taj Mahal, before coming back to New Delhi.

The Buddhist Circuit Tourist Train offers several departure dates throughout the year, making it easy for travellers to find a date that works for them. The tour lasts for eight days and seven nights, and all meals and accommodations are included in the price. Take a look at the departure dates for seasons 2023-24.

Month/Year 2023 2024
January 27
February 24
March 23
October 21
November 4
December 16

The price of the Buddhist Circuit Tourist Train varies depending on the type of accommodation chosen. There are two options available: AC First Class and AC Second Class.

Class of Train Journey Capacity Per Day Full Tour (7N/8D)
AC 1st Class 96 Guests 171 13,500 1,368 1,08,000
AC 2nd Class 60 Guests 143 11,280 1,144 90,240

To know more about the Buddha tour and travels, Buddha circuit tourism or Buddha travel and tour, visit the official website of www.irctcbuddhisttrain.com.