Buddhism and its cultural heritage sites

Know all about Buddhism and its cultural heritage sites on Buddhist Circuit train

Buddhism is a religious practice where serenity and enlightenment come alive in their awe. People from across the globe follow this religion ardently. The deep-rooted cultural heritage of Buddhism showcases the profound teachings of the Lord Buddha. With IRCTC’s special Buddhist tour packages, you can delve deep into the essence of Buddhism. The cultural heritage sites on Buddhist Circuit tourist train will introduce you to various aspects of this religion. Furthermore, this tour package will connect you with some of the most important destinations related to Lord Buddha’s life.

Buddhism Culture and History at a glance

Founded around 2500 years ago, by Siddhartha Gautam, also known as Lord Buddha, Buddhism has created a lasting impact on the lives of the masses. The principles and philosophy of Buddhism are developed from Lord Buddha’s preaching. The profound Buddhism culture and history introduce people to the true experience of life, existence, and death. The core Buddhist philosophy is directed at following a disciplined way of life and practicing meditation for achieving nirvana.
With a well-planned tour itinerary, you can explore the best Buddhist heritage sites of India
and learn thoroughly about the teachings in Buddhism such as ‘Eightfold Path’, ‘Four Noble Truths’, ‘Three Marks of Conditioned Existence’, ‘Five Precepts’, and ‘Vegetarianism’.

IRCTC Buddhist tourism in India

IRCTC offers a well-curated tour plan for exploring the key Buddhist holy sites. The specially designed Buddhist Circuit Tourist Train is the perfect train for traversing through the tranquil ambiance of Buddhist sites. With IRCTC’s Buddhist tourism in India tour plans, you will get to witness spectacular Buddhist destinations.
At IRCTC, you will get an eight-day tour package starting at Rs. 11,280/-. Beginning from Delhi, this eight-day tour covers all the paramount cultural heritage sites on Buddhist Circuit tourist train. The places included are Delhi- BodhGaya- Rajgir and Nalanda- Varanasi- Lumbini- Kushinagar- Sravasti- Agra.

IRCTC Buddhist tour itinerary details

At IRCTC, there’s a set itinerary tour package for Buddhist tourism. Travelers can even customize the journey as per their preference. Let’s take a look at the Buddhist tour itinerary offered at IRCTC for Buddhist tour:

Day 1

  • Board the Buddhist Circuit Tourist Train from Delhi’s Safdarjung Railway Station.
  • Dinner onboard, then proceed to Gaya.

Day 2

  • Breakfast and tea onboard, then arrive in Gaya.
  • Depart to Bodh Gaya, then check in at the hotel.
  • Continue Buddhist tourism in India by visiting Mahabodhi temple, Niranjana river, Thai temple, Japanese temple, and Buddha statue for sightseeing.
  • Dinner and overnight stay at the hotel.

Day 3

  • Breakfast at the hotel, later on check-out.
  • Proceed to Rajgir to visit major cultural heritage sites on Buddhist Circuit.
  • Visit Bimbisara jail, Venuvan, and Gridhakuta hills for sightseeing.
  • Lunch at the hotel, then head to Nalanda.
  • Visit the world-famous Nalanda University and Nalanda Museum for sightseeing.
  • Arrive at Gaya railway station.
  • Enjoy dinner onboard, then gear up for the next destination, i.e. Varanasi.

Day 4

  • Have breakfast on board then disembark the train and head to Sarnath.
  • Visit Dhamek Stupa, Sarnath Museum, Ashokan Pillar, and Mulgandha Kuti Vihar to explore the Buddhism culture and history.
  • Check-in at the hotel for lunch.
  • Attend Aarti at the Ganges river ghat.
  • Return to the railway station and head to Nautanwa to reach the next stop i.e., Lumbini (Nepal).

Day 5

  • Tea and breakfast on board.
  • Proceed to Lumbini.
  • Check–in at the hotel.
  • Visit Maya Devi Temple, and Ashokan Pillar to witness other eminent cultural heritage sites on Buddhist Circuit.
  • Dinner and overnight stay at the hotel.

Day 6

  • Breakfast at the hotel, then check out and proceed to Kushinagar.
  • Check-in at the hotel in Kushinagar for lunch.
  • Explore Buddhism culture and history by visiting the Mahaparinirvana temple, Rambhar Stupa, and Mata Kutir temple, for sightseeing.
  • Leave for Gorakhpur.
  • Arrival at the Gorakhpur railway station.
  • Depart to Balrampur.

Day 7

  • Departure by coach to Sravasti.
  • Freshen up and have breakfast at the hotel.
  • Visit Jetvana Vihara, Pakki Kuti, and Sahet Mahet for sightseeing of Buddhist heritage sites of India.
  • Return to the hotel for lunch then head to Balrampur railway station.
  • Proceed to Agra.

Day 8

  • Enjoy a delectable breakfast on board.
  • Proceed to visit the UNESCO World Heritage site, the Taj Mahal.
  • Head to Agra Cantt. Railway station.
  • Have lunch on board.
  • Arrival at Delhi’s Safdarjung Railway Station.

The Buddhist tour itinerary is subject to change as per several operational factors. Therefore, it is better to frequently visit the IRCTC Buddhist Circuit tourist train official website.

The tour packages available at IRCTC are designed in a way that passengers can get in-depth details about the cultural heritage sites on Buddhist Circuit tourist train. The rich history and the cultural significance of Buddhism are long-standing. The ideas of rebirth, enlightenment, and meditation, are some of the key lessons that are a part of Buddhist philosophy.
With IRCTC’s tour plans on the Buddhist circuit train, travel enthusiasts can get a closer look at the ascetic and simple life of Lord Buddha. Get your ticket today and embark on a soul-stirring tour.