Understand Buddhism Better with a Soul-Stirring Train Journey

Celebrating Buddha Purnima: An Auspicious Journey with The Buddhist Circuit Tourist Train

If you are a devotee of Lord Buddha, then you must have thought about visiting the holy pilgrimage sites associated with his life and times. But traveling to these places that are scattered all over India and Nepal isn’t very easy. Keeping this in mind, the Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Limited (IRCTC) has launched a special tourist train, The Buddhist Circuit Tourist Train that takes passengers on a memorable journey to these religious destinations in complete comfort. The culture and history of Buddhism are a treasure trove of unexpected finds and deep philosophies that can bring tranquility and peace of mind to all. While there are many ways to unravel and delve deep into the religion, the best thing to do is experience this spirituality at sacred sites and holy places. If you want to embark on a journey towards self-actualization, then you can hop on IRCTC’s Buddhist Circuit Tourist Train and explore everything from Buddhist history to Buddhist architecture. Bookings for seasons 2022-23 and 2023-24 are now open. Simply choose a departure date that suits you from the list below and embark on a journey toward self-actualization.

Book Now for Season 2022-23 and 2023-24

Month/Year      2023     2024

January              –             27

March                 11         23

October              21          –

November         4            –

December         16

Day 1: Depart from New Delhi’s Safdurjung Railway Station.

Day 2: Arrive in Gaya and spend the day sightseeing in Bodhgaya and an overnight stay.

Day 3: Visit Rajgir and Nalanda followed by a journey towards Varanasi and an overnight stay onboard the train.

Day 4: Arrival in Varanasi. Excursion to Sarnath followed by evening aarti on Ganga Ghat and depart for Nautanwa by overnight train journey.

Day 5: Arrive at Nautanwa Railway Station and a bus journey towards Lumbini in Nepal and overnight stay.

Day 6: Sightseeing at the famous temples of Kushinagar followed by departure towards Balrampur.

Day 7: Morning arrival at Balrampur followed by an afternoon visit to Sravasti.

Day 8: Day trip to Agra’s famous Taj Mahal and arrival in Delhi by evening.

This 8 days and 7 nights itinerary has been planned in such a way that tourists can enjoy the right balance of tourist attractions and pilgrim spots. While there are ample visits to Buddhist monasteries and temples, there is also provision for sightseeing at famous destinations such as the Taj Mahal. Not only this, even meals, transfers, security services, tour guides, etc. are included in the booking. Ready to embark on this soul-soothing and enriching train journey? Book now for the upcoming season and enjoy special limited-period discounts!

Special Promo Offers*

Want to book this amazing journey at an unbelievable price? We have a surprise for you! Simply choose one of the following departure dates and avail these exclusive offers. Do keep in mind that these offers are valid for a limited time only.

  • 11th March 2023 departure PROMO OFFER 20% discount on the published tariff – Applicable for Indian Nationalities (Including NRI, PIO, OCI).

To know more about the train or learn about Buddhism Culture and History or Buddhist architecture, visit the official website at www.irctcbuddhisttrain.com.

*T&C Apply